In a Dark, Dark Wood – Ruth Ware.

download (2)

Back of the book :

In a dark, dark wood …

Nora hasn’t seen Claire for ten years. Not since Nora walked out of school one day and never went back.

There was a dark, dark house …

Until, out of the blue, an invitation to Claire’s hen do arrives. Is  this a chance for Nora to finally put her past behind her ?

And in the dark, dark house there was a dark, dark room …

But something goes wrong. very wrong.

And in the dark, dark room …

Some things can’t stay secret for ever.

What I think : 

Leonora, Nora to her friends hasn’t seen Claire for at least ten years, they used to be really good friends when they were at school but something really bad happened to Nora, and she never went back to school, not even to get her exam results.

When Nora suddenly receives a invitation to Claire’s hen party, she’s not quite sure what to do. Another friend, Nina who also knew both Claire and Nora at school is also invited so after speaking to her Nora decides to go. The hen weekend is at a really remote location. ‘The Glass house’ belongs to Flo, Claire’s new best friend and its in the middle of a forest. It’s made of glass and wood, surrounded by trees and not much else. There is no mobile phone signal and only one landline. They weekend starts well, however as it progresses little things start to happen, such as a snow storm that results in the landline phone going down and ends in things going terribly wrong.

The book has two time lines, ‘Before’ and ‘After’. We spend a lot of time in the ‘before’ part with Nora and The Hen party. The ‘after’ part is when we find out what has happened and why.

I quite liked this book, I really enjoy a thriller and this one ticked all the boxes. However I did guess ‘whodunnit’ quite early on, but I think its because I read so many other thrillers that my mind is always wondering ‘was it you’ or ‘Hmm you have a motive’.  I did think that Nora was slightly naive though, I mean who goes to a a hen party for someone they haven’t seen or had any contact with for ten years ? I would have to think twice and especially if I found out that it was taking place in a house in a forest in the middle of nowhere.

It has lots of twists and turns is quite claustrophobic in places. I know I certainly wouldn’t want to be in a glass house in the middle of nowhere.

This is a hugely enjoyable read and I give it 9/10.

Published on 30/07/15 by Harvill Secker.

I purchased my copy from Tesco £7.00

Leave a Reply

