Archive | December 28, 2016

Killing Kate – Alex Lake.

alex-lake

 

Back of the book : 

A serial killer is stalking your home town.

He has a type:  All his victims look the same.

And they all look like you …..

Kate returns from  a post-break-up holiday with her girlfriends to news of a serial killerin her home town – and his victims all look like her.

It could, of course be a simple coincidence.

or maybe not.

She becomes convinced she is being  watched, followed even. Is she next ?

And could her mild-mannered ex-boyfriend really be a deranged murderer ?

Or is the truth far more sinister ?

 

What I think :

When Kate comes back from a girls holiday with her 2 best friends May and Gemma, she realises that a girl has been murdered in her home town. But not only that, she also realises that the murdered woman looks just like her. Then another girl is murdered and she also looks a lot like Kate. Things start to get a bit scary.

Then add to the mix her Ex-boyfriend Phil, who won’t leave her alone and has become a bit a stalker, by following her and standing in the bushes and just staring at the house they used to live in together. It all starts to get really scary. Is Phil really the one who is murdering the girls ? After all the last murdered girl was Phil’s new girlfriend and no-one seems to know where he is ….

This is a really excellent thriller of a book. It has suspense in all the right places. The characters are really quite believable, I really did feel quite sorry for Kate at certain points, especially when Phil would just not leave her alone.

I did however, work out who the murderer was about half way through the book, but I think its probably because the moment I start to read thriller my mind clicks into action and I have to work out “whodunnit” !!

There are plenty of brilliant twists and turns in this excellent book not to mention the one at the end, which is fab !!

This book was written under the name of ‘Alex Lake’ which is a pseudonym of a British author. I think I’ll have to continue to read their books so i can discover just who it is !!

I give this a really fab book and really recommend it if you love a good thriller and give it a well earned  10/10. 5 gold stars

 

Published by Harper Collins on 06/10/16

I purchased my copy from Tesco for £3.85