No Turning Back – Tracy Buchanan.

No turning back

Back of the book : 

She only wanted to save her daughter. 

She didn’t mean to kill anyone … did she ? 

When Radio presenter Anna Graves and her daughter are attacked on the beach by a crazed teenager, Anna reacts instinctively to protect her baby.

But her life falls apart when the schoolboy dies from his injuries. The police believe Anna’s story, until the autopsy reveals something more sinister …

The evidence seems to connect Anna to a decades-old serial murder case. Is she really as innocent as she claims ? And is killing ever justified, if it saves a child life ?

 

What I think :

Anna is a single parent to eight month old Joni, she and her husband split a few months ago and is still finding it quite hard to manage. She works at the local radio station as a DJ. She’s just, that day, come back after her maternity leave. That night after work she’s walking along the beach with Joni when a teenager that looks high on drugs, tries to attack her and her baby. Anna does what any parent would do, she protects her child. But, sadly in doing so she actually kills the boy by stabbing him in the neck with a comb. At first the police believe her version of events and don’t charge her, but then some awful things start to happen and she doesn’t look so innocent anymore. Slowly but surely her life starts to fall apart. Its the last straw for her when she starts to receive emails from the so-called “Ophelia Killer” who twenty years ago, murdered teenage boys by poisoning them, then drowning them in a pond. The murderer suddenly disappeared as quick as they arrived, the police never caught them. Anna’s dad, a top reporter, who was investigating the murders himself, suddenly killed himself around that time so for Anna its dragging up awful memories. Is it really the killer or a copy cat ? Will Anna ever get her life back together again or will she lose everything … ?

I absolutely loved this book, it gripped me from start to finish it’s so intense, I couldn’t put it down. I especially loved all the twists and turns, I was always trying to be one step ahead and thinking I’d got it all sorted out, then something would happen and its turned it all on it’s head and I was back to square one again ! I thought the big ‘twist’ at the end when it came was brilliant. I didn’t guess and was barking up completely the wrong tree !

I felt really sorry for Anna a lot of the time, if you had to go through all the stuff she had to I think you’d have a nervous breakdown in the very least !

I really enjoyed this book and I’m really looking forward to the next one.

I give this book 10/10 (5 stars)

 

5 gold stars

Published by Avon Books on 28/07/16.

A big Thank you to Avon Books from whom I won my copy of the book from in a competition on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

