This Must Be the Place – Maggie O’Farrell.

Maggie O'farrell

 

Back of the book : 

Meet Daniel Sullivan,  a man with a complicated life.

A New Yorker living in the wilds of Ireland, he has children he never sees in California, a father he loathes in Brooklyn and a wife, Claudette, who is given to shooting anyone who ventures up their driveway.

He is also about to find out a woman he lost touch with twenty years ago, and this will send him off-course, far away from his wife and home. Will his love for Claudette be enough to bring him back … ?

 

What I think : 

Daniel is an American, living in the rural Ireland. He is married to Claudette, who is slightly batty in my opinion, who used to be a very famous film star. However one day she just “disappeared” from the public eye and was never seen again. They have two children together and also Claudette has an older son from a previous relationship. Daniel also has children from a previous marriage, a son and a daughter who live in america. He hasn’t seen them since they were very young.

When Daniel returns home to America after a long time of being absent, to visit his father, who he doesn’t really get on with, for his birthday party, he is very much reminded of someone he used to date when he was at younger. He decides there and then to go on a bit of a journey of discovery to find out exactly what happened to this person.

Where will his journey take him and will he still have a marriage left when he reaches his journeys end ?

The book is divided into many different chapters, with many different characters that all fit together to make up the book. some are in the present and some go back to the past. I must admit I did get slightly confused when I first started reading as it weaves back and forth with all the different characters but, as I continued to read it sort of seemed to fall into place and it became clear.

As usual Maggie has excelled herself with fabulous characters and a wonderfully woven story about life, love and families. I really couldn’t wait to get my hands on a copy of this book and when I did, I wasn’t disappointed at all, it was really worth the wait. I just couldn’t put the thing down ! I must have read the whole thing in just over two days.

Yes, this one is on my top ten of this years books so far ..

I give this one a brilliant 10/10 (5 stars)

5 gold stars

 

Published by Tinder press on 17/05/16.

I purchased my copy at WHSmith £15.99.

Leave a Reply

