You Sent Me a Letter – Lucy Dawson.

Lucy Dawson

 

Back of the book : 

At 2am on the morning of her fortieth birthday, Sophie wakes to find an intruder in her bedroom. The stranger hands Sophie a letter and issues a threat : open the letter at her party that evening, in front of gathered family and friends, at precisely 8pm, or those she loves will be in grave danger.

What can the letter possibly contain ?

This will be no ordinary party ; Sophie is not the only person keeping a secret about the evening ahead. When the clock strikes eight, the course of several people’s lives will be altered forever.

 

What I think : 

Sophie is woken in the early hours of her fourth birthday by a man sat by the side of her bed. He hands her a letter and tells her that she must open it at 8pm that night, at her party. She must read this letter out loud to everybody gathered there. He also tells her if she tells anybody or doesn’t turn up, he will hurt her nearest and dearest, he also says that he’ll be watching her.

Sophie is engaged to Marc, who has two children, Isabelle and Olivier with his very glamorous ex wife Claudine who lives in France. Claudine doesn’t like the idea of Marc being with Sophie as she wants him back herself. She does everything she can to prevent Marc from seeing the children.

Meanwhile Marc is busily arranging to make Sophie’s birthday party into a surprise wedding that Sophie knows nothing about !

Sophie is also hiding a secret of her own.

Who is behind the mysterious letter, is it the ex wife or is someone else behind it all ?

When I received a wedding invitation out of the blue from someone I didn’t know I really wondered what was going on, then when a couple of days later  I got the review copy of the book through the post all was revealed.

As thrillers go, this is not too bad, however I did think in several places it was slightly, little bit far-fetched. I mean, if I found a strange man sitting in my bedroom, after I’d finished screaming the place down, I would have certainly rang the police. I also wouldn’t be able to wait hours and hours to see what was in the letter either.

Having said all of that though, I did find it quite a good read, I really needed to know how it all ended, so I read it only in a couple of sittings. I was quite surprised at the “twist” at the end, I didn’t guess it at all.

I give this book 7/10.

Published by Corvus on 03/03/16.

A very big Thank you to Alison Davies at Corvus for the Wedding Invite and the review copy of the book :).

 

Leave a Reply

