Out of the Darkness – Katy Hogan.

 Back of the Book :

‘A person is like a candle’, he said. 

‘The wick is the body, the flame is the soul, bringing light in the world’.

Following the sudden death of her beloved mother, Jessica Gibson’s world falls apart. But after meeting a man who seems heaven-sent, she starts to feel she has something to live for again. And so begins an emotional journey. Which leads to Jessica to believe the unbelievable, thanks to a series of intriguing messages from beyond the grave.

Out of the darkness is a tale of friendship and redemption. Of love and loss and life… after death.

What I think : 

Jessica is a nurse, She recently lost her Mum, Linda quite suddenly. She’s not coping at all. She just can’t to move on. She doesn’t want to be happy any more or even function properly without her Mum. One day after work, she meets an old school friend, who drags her to a party. There she meets Finn. Finn seems really nice and they have a night together.

Alex comes from America, She recently moved from London to Brighton for a fresh start. She’s having a bit of a bad relationship with her on-off boyfriend Sam. She moves into a really nice house in a nice neighbourhood. However, strange things start to happen in the house, like cold spots in the kitchen odd noises at night and smelling cigarette smoke when she doesn’t smoke. She’s also started having really odd dreams about being on a boat.

Jess has started going to a bereavement group to try and get over the death of her Mum and that meeting just so happens to be next door to Alex and the pair meet. Slowly over time the two women become friends. Hannah is also a member of the group, she and Jess seem to click and Hannah becomes the third person in their little friendship group. Somehow against all the odds, the three women are woven together and it seems to be ‘Heaven sent’

This is a really excellent read. I absolutely could not put this book down. I have always been a little dubious about ‘supernatural’ books so when I was sent this book by the author herself, I wasn’t quite sure. However after hearing really good things about it I decided to give it a go and boy am I glad I did. I can not praise this book highly enough. Its a really sweet and lovely tale of love and loss and how you can, with a little help move on.

I really loved the way that the three women are linked together by a common denominator. It has you on a real roller-coaster ride of emotion, and so tender in places that I will admit that I shed quite a few tears. I do think that this book will stay with me for quite a while afterwards. I really can’t believe that this is Katy’s first book as its so beautifully written. I really can’t wait for the next one. I will certainly be telling all my friends to go get a copy !

I give this wonderful book a well earned 10/10.

A really big Thank you to the author for sending me a review copy of the book to read and review.

Published by Illumine on 06/07/15

One thought on “Out of the Darkness – Katy Hogan.

Leave a Reply

