The Sun in Her Eyes – Paige Toon.

download (3)

Back of the book : 

Blinding sunshine … A bend in the road … What became of the little girl with the sun in her eyes ? 

Amber was three when a car crash stole her mothers life. She doesn’t remember the accident, But a stranger at the scene has been unable to forget. Now, almost thirty years later, she’s trying to track Amber down.

Amber meanwhile is married to Ned and living on the other side of the world in London. When her father has a stroke, she flies straight home to Australia to be with him. Away from her husband, Amber finds comfort in her oldest friends, but her feelings for Ethan, the gorgeous green-eyed man she once fell for, have never been platonic.

As Ethan and Amber grow closer, married life in London feels very far away. Then Amber receives a letter that changes everything …

Before your mother died, she asked me to tell you something …. 

What I think : 

When Amber was a small child she was in a car accident, sadly her mother was killed that day. She cant remember much about it or her mother.

Amber is an Australian living in the U.K. She’s married to Ned, but she’s always loved another, Her childhood friend Ethan. Amber and Ned’s Marriage is OK, but cracks are beginning to show. So when Amber’s Dad has a stroke, she drops everything and goes back home to Australia to help her dad’s partner Liz look after him. She goes alone as Ned can’t get away because of work. she’s hoping that some time apart may help give her time to think so she can repair her marriage.

Whilst in Australia she catches up with some of her old friends, Tina and Nell. But she also meets up with Ethan, her childhood friend again. She doesn’t know how she feels about him now. However to make matters worse,  Just as her dad is recovering from his stroke, she receives a letter from a stranger telling her that she was at the accident that day all those years ago and she has something to tell Amber about her mother …

Another fabulous read from the wonderful Paige Toon, she always manages to write such wonderful stories that pick you up from the very first page and grab you in till the last one, I really didn’t want this one to end. having said that though I did read this book in a day and a half, I just couldn’t put it down. Another thing that I really love is that her stories always involve going to a hot country, her descriptions make me feel like I’m really there.

As usual the characters are really excellent, I thought that Amber was really likeable, although I did think that she liked to go to the pub alot ! However right from the start I did have trouble warming to Ethan, I know he was supposed to to be the sexy alternative but I did think he was a bit shifty and wanted to lead Amber astray !  Ned was my sort of guy, all round hero, He was so sweet and really loved Amber.

All in all a excellent read from the queen of chick-Lit, I would wholeheartedly recommend his book to all of my friends.

I give this book 10/10.

Published on 21/05/15 by Simon and Schuster.

I purchased my copy from Tesco £3:85.

One thought on “The Sun in Her Eyes – Paige Toon.

Leave a Reply

