The Sudden Departure of The Frasers – Louise Candlish.

download (2)

Back of the book : 

My name is Amber Fraser. I’ve just moved into number 40 Lime Park Road. You’ll come to think of me as a loving wife, a thoughtful neighbour and a trusted friend.   

THIS A LIE …..

When Christy and Joe Davenport are handed the keys to number 40 on the picture perfect Lime Park Road, Christy knows it should be a dream come true.

Strange, though, that the house was on the market for such a low price.

That the previous owners renovated the entire property yet moved out within a year.

That none of the neighbours will talk to Christy.

As curiosity gives way to obbsession, Christy finds herself drawn deeper into the mystery of the house’s former occupants – and the dark and shocking secret that tore the street apart ….

What I think :

Christy and Joe can’t quite believe that they can afford to buy number 40 Lime Park Road, after all it is the best house on the street. Why is it on the market at such a rock bottom price ? When Christy’s parents lend them some money they are able to scrape enough money together for the mortgage. After they have moved into to their dream home they still can’t understand why the last occupants left in such a hurry. The neighbours are very cold towards them and refuse to talk about the Frasers at all.

What happened in this house and the street to make them leave after only 11 months and why wont anyone talk about it ? ….

The book is told in two parts, Christys story in 2013 and Amber’s story in 2012.

I must admit I’m still not quite sure about this this book, don’t get me wrong its quite an enjoyable read and the characters are well formed and believe-able, but there was something missing that I still can’t quite put my finger on.

I really liked Christy, and I really liked the way that she became an amateur sleuth to discover just what had happened to make the Fraser’s up and leave so quickly, she reminds me of me in that respect. If there is something to get to the bottom of, I’m your girl !!  Amber however, I saw through almost straight away. She married for money and not as far as I can see love, she is quite spoiled by everyone and because she is pretty everyone seemed to think she was wonderful. By the end of the book I really thought she was awful and quite spiteful really.

Like I said at the start of this review, this is an enjoyable story with quite a few twists and turns and  a few secrets to uncover. Although I do think that its slightly long in places and there there weren’t quite enough tit-bits as to what the big secret is, you have to wait until the very end.

I give this book 8/10.

Published on 21/05/15 by Penguin Random House.

I purchased my copy of the book from Amazon £5:59.

Leave a Reply

