The Day We Disappeared – Lucy Robinson.

download (10)Back of the book  :  

Annie has a secret …

But if she’s not going to tell, we wont either. It’s a heart-breaking secret she wishes she didn’t have – yet Annie isn’t broken, not quite yet. Especially now there’s someone out there to seems determined to fix her …

Kate has run away. But she’s not going to tell us why – that would defeat the point of running, wouldn’t it ? It’s proving difficult to reinvent herself however, with one person always on her mind.

Scratch beneath the surface and nobody is really who they seem. Even Annie and Kate, two old friends, who aren’t entirely sure who they are anymore. Perhaps you can work it out, before their pasts catch up with them for good ….

What I think : 

This story is about two friends, Kate and Annie.

Kate Walsh has run away, she’s left her life and gone to be a stable girl at a farm in wildest Devon. She’s not saying anything to anybody about why she just up and left. There is one problem however, she knows nothing about horses or riding. She’s worried that when her boss, the really moody Mark Waverly finds out, he’ll sack her, then what will she do ?

Annie is an over-worked massage therapist, One day Stephen Flint, a big shot in the business world walks into her office for a massage, by the time she’s finished he is so impressed he offers her the job of a lifetime …

Annie has never had a boyfriend, she has a problem with getting to close to men, this is due to something that happened to her when she was a child. However she has some fab friends in Tim and Claudine and a really lovely big sister, Lizzy.

OMG !! I really don’t know where to start with this review if I’m totally honest. I absolutely LOVED this book ! I knew it would be something pretty special as I’ve read her other books and totally loved them, however this one really grabbed me in and I really didn’t want it to end, I couldn’t put the thing down and was nearly late for work on a couple of occasions.

It has so many twists, turns and secrets you feel like you are on one hell of a  a roller-coaster ride. I loved the two main characters and really felt for them both, having said that however this book has some pretty special supporting characters too. I really loved the very french Claudine and really wished that she was my friend and had my back and I just wanted hug the life out of Tim, he is one special guy.

Lucy’s style of writing is brilliant and down to earth and so so clever, I would never have guessed the ending, it’s just so brilliant. I could continue to sing this books praises but I’ll just say this, Go and Buy It … NOW !!!

I think I just may have found my ‘Book of the year’

I give it a very well earned 10/10.

Published by Penguin Books on 09/04/15

I purchased my copy from Waterstones – £5.99

2 thoughts on “The Day We Disappeared – Lucy Robinson.

Leave a Reply

