His Other Life – Beth Thomas.

download (9)

Back of the book : 

Is Grace Married to a stranger ?

Grace’s new husband Adam seems like the perfect package. Good looking, great job, completely charming – almost too good to be true. So when Adam suddenly disappears from Grace’s life she is left bewildered and heartbroken.

As she tries desperately to find him, Grace open’s a Pandora’s Box of secrets and lies – and starts to learn that Adam wasn’t so perfect after all.

What painful secrets is her husband hiding ? Is Grace in danger ? And can she survive the truth,however terrible it may be … ? 

 

What I think : 

Grace has been married to Adam for just over a year, he’s got a good job as an Estate Agent and is very good looking. The only problem is that she knows absolutely nothing about him. She doesn’t know who his friends are, where he went to school, or even where he went on family holidays as a child. She isn’t even allowed to answer his mobile phone when it rings.

One day, whilst Adam is out, he gets a phone call from someone called Leon. This phone call seems to upset him slightly. Later that night, he goes out to fetch a take-away Curry for them, but doesn’t return. Adam is on the missing person’s list.

Grace has to turn Detective to find out just exactly who her husband really is ….

I wasn’t quite sure about this book, all the way through I couldn’t decide if I really liked Graces’s character or not. She seemed so naive and had a real ability to be able to over react about everything. I mean in this day and age would someone really marry someone and not really know them ?

Adam’s Mum is a bit of a rare creature that seemed to me like she was a bit mad. she always seemed to me me like she was somewhere else.

I did however like Grace’s best friend ‘Ginge’ real name Sarah, she was just like a best friend should be, best friends since primary school, she is big and bouncy, but also caring. Matt, Ginge’s brother is lovely and just the right thing for Grace.

I did however love the style of writing, I’m not sure if it was supposed to be written as a comedy but that’s how it came across. At certain points, I was laughing so loudly that I was getting very strange looks in the staff room at work !!

Although this book has a few surprises, the ending wasn’t what I expected at all. Having said that though it’s not a bad thing, it kept me on my toes right until the end.

I give this book 6/10, but that’s purely and simply because I just could not decide if I liked the main character or not.

Published by Avon books on 26 March 2015.

I purchased my copy from WHSmith – £7.99

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

