Archive | April 10, 2015

Rebecca Raisin – Gingerbread Cafe Trilogy – Boxset.

release day



Don’t miss the exciting new collection the Gingerbread Café Trilogy by Rebecca Raisin
Book One – Christmas At The Gingerbread Cafe
The icing on her Christmas cake!
Christmas is the season the Gingerbread Café in Ashford, Connecticut was made for…but owner Lily couldn’t be feeling less merry if she tried. She’s spent another year dreaming of being whisked away on a sleigh-ride for two, but she’s facing festive season alone – again. And, just to give her another reason to feel anything other than candy-cane perky, a new shop across the road has opened… Not only is it selling baked goods, but the owner, with his seriously charming smile, has every girl in town swooning.

But Lily isn’t about to let her business crumble — the Gingerbread Café is the heart of the community, and she’s going to fight for it! This could be the Christmas that maybe, just maybe, all her dreams – even the someone-to-decorate-the-Christmas-tree-with ones – really do come true.


Book Two – Chocolate Dreams At The Gingerbread Cafe

Chocolate…the most irresistible temptation?The Gingerbread Café is all a buzz! This Easter, Lily and the rest of the town of Ashford, Connecticut are planning a truly decadent Chocolate Festival. Cooking up a storm, CeeCee and Lily are not just baking a batch of their sinfully delicious chocolate-dipped gingerbread men, but an excess of chocolate truffles, squidgy, cinnamony hot cross buns and melt in your mouth chocolate eggs. The Gingerbread Café staff have definitely enjoyed the tasting process!Add in Damon’s cute-as-a-button seven year old daughter, Charlie, up for a visit and Lily’s perfect Easter may just be around the corner. Until her ex-husband Joel turns up demanding twenty thousand dollars… Suddenly the future of the Gingerbread Café is not so clear…and Lily finds herself eating far more of The Gingerbread Café’s treats than her skinny jeans allow…Can Lily concoct a brilliant plan to save her beloved café, convince Damon she has no feelings for Joel and still throw a Chocolate Festival the town will be talking about for years? There’s only one way to find out…Welcome back to the warmth, cupcakes and hot chocolate of The Gingerbread Café – your home away from home 

Book Three – Christmas Wedding At The Gingerbread Cafe

You are invited to the wedding of the year!

Snow is falling thick and fast outside the Gingerbread Café and inside, its owner Lily is planning the wedding of the year. Her wedding! She never dreamt it would happen, but this Christmas, she’ll be marrying the man of her dreams – in a Christmas-card-perfect ceremony!

The gingerbread is baking, the dress is fitted and the mistletoe’s in place – for once, everything’s going to plan. That is until her mother-in-law arrives… Suddenly, Lily’s famous cool is being tested like never before and her dream wedding is crumbling before her eyes.

In the blink of a fairylight, the Gingerbread Café has been thrown into chaos! Lily thought she had this wedding wrapped up, but with so much to do before she says ‘I do’, can Lily get to the church on time – and make this Christmas sparkle after all?


About The Author

Rebecca Raisin is a true bibliophile. This love of books morphed into the desire to write them. She’s been widely published in short story anthologies, and in fiction magazines. And now she is focusing on writing romance.

Rebecca aims to write characters you can see yourself being friends with. People with big hearts who care about relationships and believe in true love.










His Other Life – Beth Thomas.

download (9)

Back of the book : 

Is Grace Married to a stranger ?

Grace’s new husband Adam seems like the perfect package. Good looking, great job, completely charming – almost too good to be true. So when Adam suddenly disappears from Grace’s life she is left bewildered and heartbroken.

As she tries desperately to find him, Grace open’s a Pandora’s Box of secrets and lies – and starts to learn that Adam wasn’t so perfect after all.

What painful secrets is her husband hiding ? Is Grace in danger ? And can she survive the truth,however terrible it may be … ? 


What I think : 

Grace has been married to Adam for just over a year, he’s got a good job as an Estate Agent and is very good looking. The only problem is that she knows absolutely nothing about him. She doesn’t know who his friends are, where he went to school, or even where he went on family holidays as a child. She isn’t even allowed to answer his mobile phone when it rings.

One day, whilst Adam is out, he gets a phone call from someone called Leon. This phone call seems to upset him slightly. Later that night, he goes out to fetch a take-away Curry for them, but doesn’t return. Adam is on the missing person’s list.

Grace has to turn Detective to find out just exactly who her husband really is ….

I wasn’t quite sure about this book, all the way through I couldn’t decide if I really liked Graces’s character or not. She seemed so naive and had a real ability to be able to over react about everything. I mean in this day and age would someone really marry someone and not really know them ?

Adam’s Mum is a bit of a rare creature that seemed to me like she was a bit mad. she always seemed to me me like she was somewhere else.

I did however like Grace’s best friend ‘Ginge’ real name Sarah, she was just like a best friend should be, best friends since primary school, she is big and bouncy, but also caring. Matt, Ginge’s brother is lovely and just the right thing for Grace.

I did however love the style of writing, I’m not sure if it was supposed to be written as a comedy but that’s how it came across. At certain points, I was laughing so loudly that I was getting very strange looks in the staff room at work !!

Although this book has a few surprises, the ending wasn’t what I expected at all. Having said that though it’s not a bad thing, it kept me on my toes right until the end.

I give this book 6/10, but that’s purely and simply because I just could not decide if I liked the main character or not.

Published by Avon books on 26 March 2015.

I purchased my copy from WHSmith – £7.99