The Woman Who Stole My Life – Marian Keyes.

download (7)

 

Back of the book : 

Name : Stella Sweeney.

Height : Average.

Recent life events : dramatic.

One day, sitting in traffic, married Dublin mum Stella Sweeney attempts a good deed. The resulting crash alters her life.

For she meets a man who wants her telephone number (for insurance, it turns out). That’s okay. She doesn’t really like him much anyway (his Range Rover banjaxed her car).

But something in this meeting born a seed of something which will take Stella thousands of miles from her old life, turning an ordinary woman into a superstar, and along the way, wrenching her whole family apart.

Is this all because of one ill-advised act of goodwill ? Was meeting Mr Range Rover destiny or Karma ? Should she be grateful or hoping mad ?

For the first time, real, honest-to-goodness happiness is just within her reach. But is Stella Sweeney, Dublin housewife, ready to grasp it ?

 

What I think : 

Four and a half years ago, Stella Sweeney was driving along, minding her own business, when suddenly out of no-where comes a huge Range Rover, crashing into her. It completely rights off her car. The driver of the car asks her for her phone number, she christens him ‘Mr Range Rover’. She thinks she’ll never see him again …

Stella is just a normal housewife, she has an ex-husband, Ryan and two teenage children, Betsy and Jeffrey and a sister who is a bit of a bully. When she unfortunately ends up in hospital with a really serious disease, it turns out she really needs a friend and a doctor, Enter ‘Mr Range Rover’ ! It turns out he’s a neurologist and she’s his next case !

I have always been a big fan of Marian’s books, so I couldn’t wait to get stuck into this latest book. This one is a quite dark read, which I think makes it a bit different to her other books. There is still a bit of humour in it and I did find myself smiling in a couple of places.

I really liked Stella, she is just a normal woman trying to cope with what life throws at her. I found her ex-husband, Ryan was rather like a spoilt child, I really didn’t like him at all, In fact he really annoyed me when he told Stella that she ‘shouldn’t have got ill’, like she had a choice ! And lastly Mannix, well what can I say about him ? I think every woman should have a Mannix ! He is such a lovely, gorgeous man – if only he wasn’t just a character in a book !

All I can say about this book is that you really need to read it, I really don’t want to say much more because I don’t want to spoil it for anyone.  I really loved this book, the only complaint that I have is that this book is so long, it was quite difficult to hold after a while !

I give this book 10/10

I’m really looking forward to the next one, Marian, please let that be soon !

 

Published by Penguin – Michael Joseph on 06 November 2014.

A big Thank you to the publishers penguin – Michael Joseph and NetGalley for the digital copy of the book to read and review.

(I also purchased this book from Sainburys – £9:49

 

 

Leave a Reply

