The Oyster Catcher – Jo Thomas.

 

 

51wgLaDl2DL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_

 

Back of the book : 

Dooleybridge, County Galway.

Population : 482 ( or thereabouts ) 

 

The last place Fiona Clutterbuck expects to end up, alone on her wedding night.

But after the words ‘I do’ have barely left her mouth, that’s exactly where she is – with only her sequinned shoes and a crashed camper van for company.

One thing is certain : Fi can’t go back. So when the opportunity arises to work for local oyster farmer, Sean Thornton, she jumps at the chance. Now Fi must navigate suspicious locals, jealous rivals and a wild, unpredictable boss if she’s to find a new life, and love, on the Irish coast. And nothing – even a chronic fear of water – is going to hold her back.

 

What I think : 

Fiona Clutterbuck (what a really wonderful name !) has been jilted by Brian her new husband, she doesn’t even get to her wedding night. So, she gets into to the hired camper van and runs away. She finally turns up in a small Irish village called Dooleybridge. She’s still wearing her wedding dress and her very sparkly shoes. Its not long before she meets Sean Thornton, and he offers her a job. However the job is a ‘Girl Friday’ to a oyster farmer and Fi is petrified of water. will she be able to stay and do the job or will she carry on running ?

I really, really enjoyed  this book. Right from the moment I it picked it up and started reading, it dragged me in. I really loved all the characters, from the locals in the pub to the wonderful animals at the farm. I especially liked the two donkeys Freddie and Mercury, who kept on ‘breaking free’ to visit the white lady donkey down the lane, and would really love a gorgeous dog like Grace. I did have a bit of trouble warming to Fi at the start, but then as the book got going she started grow on me and I ended up quite liking her.

It has everything, from Jealous partners and oyster pirates to American Celebrity Chefs. This book has a few twists and turns along the way, you don’t actually find out why Fi’s husband jilted her until about a quarter of the way through the book.

The author is very descriptive of the surrounding areas and at times I really felt I was there standing on the edge of a very cold Irish sea. And I really feel I know a bit about oyster farming now, the author certainly did her homework !

This is a very gentle, easy read with a really gorgeous, old fashioned ending, I give it 9/10.

I shall definitely be looking out for Jo’s other books.

Published by Headline Review on 06 Nov 2014.

Thank you to BookBridgr for the Copy of the book to read and review.

Leave a Reply

