The Boy in the Cemetery – Sebastian Gregory.

 

download (5)

 

Back of the book : 

This is the story of a girl who lived but was not alive …. 

Carrie Anne is desperately unhappy. Tangled in a web of abuse, she seeks solace in the cemetery that backs onto her garden. But something creeps between the gravestones. Carrie Anne is not alone ….

 

…. and a boy who was dead, but could not die.

The cemetery is home to a boy. He has guarded these forgotten bones since meeting a gruesome end two hundred years ago. Neither dead or alive, he has been watching for a long time. And now, he finally has a visitor he’s been waiting for ….

 

What I think : 

The Boy’s Mother takes her own life by jumping into the river, she had ‘The Consumption’ and her mind had been turned by it. His father isn’t a very nice person, he’s a drunk and makes the boy work after dark as a grave robber. One night whilst robbing a grave the boy notices a white stone angel that is guarding a baby’s grave. It reminds him of his mother and feels comforted by it. On the same night his father is attacked, and dies. The boy returns to the cemetery and there he meets a bad ghoul/spirit that turns him. The boy becomes ‘not alive but not dead’

Fast forward two hundred years, we meet Carrie Anne. Her father is abusing her and she’s very unhappy. To avoid prosecution her father moves them to a different town. When they arrive at the new house, Carrie Anne is interested to find out that there is a cemetery at the end of the garden. After an especially awful day, Carrie Anne ends up in the cemetery. Here she meets The Boy …..

When I decided to read this book I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, as it’s not my usual type of book. However I was pleasantly surprised, Once I started reading it I couldn’t put it down and read the whole thing in an afternoon and evening !

This book goes under the heading of ‘Young Adult’, however I think it’s maybe a more adult book as it did creep me out in a few places. Its very dark and quite sinister right from the start, and tells of poverty and hardship, especially when you find out that the boy is only twelve years old when he ‘dies’.

I didn’t Carrie Anne’s mother very much, I found her a very weak character and I really took an instant dislike to Carrie Anne’s father, he deserved everything he got. However I did myself feeling very sorry for Carrie Anne, and I found myself wanting to help her.

I really did like this book even although I did find it slightly odd in a couple of places !  It reminded me of Tim Burton’s ‘The Corpse Bride’ and ‘The Nightmare before Christmas’ which I really loved.

I give this book 9/10.

published by Carina on 29 October 2014.

Thank you to the publisher Carina and NetGalley for the digital copy of the book to read and review.

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Boy in the Cemetery – Sebastian Gregory.

  1. Pingback: Spooky Reads Week Recommendation: The Boy in the Cemetery | Paris Baker's Book Nook

Leave a Reply

