Pieces of You – Ella Harper

Back of the book : 

The Perfect marriage.

A devastating secret.

An impossible choice.

Lucy was always sure of one thing – her future with husband and soulmate Luke. But after eight long, heartbreaking years trying for a baby, that future is crumbling before her eyes.

When a terrible accident puts Luke into a coma, Lucy is forced to reaccess everything she thought she wanted.

Then Stella arrives. A woman Lucy’s never met, but with a secret that will change her world forever.

What I think : 

Lucy and Luke Harte have a happy marriage, they have been trying for a child for eight long years. The have suffered eight awful miscarriages. So when Lucy finally gets pregnant on a final IVF try they are over the moon. Sadly at 16 weeks pregnant Lucy loses the baby. On the same day, Luke goes to work as a paramedic but doesn’t return. He has a serious accident and ends up in a coma. Then just when you think that things cant get any worse for Lucy, Stella turns up at the hospital and tells Lucy something very shocking …

Oh my, what a gorgeous book !

The story is made up of different chapters dedicated to all the main characters involved in the story, which I liked because you can see what they are thinking and feeling. It tells us the stories of Patricia, Luke’s mum, Nell and Ade, Luke’s brother and sister and of course Luke and Lucy, their story is told retrospectively from when they met until a month before the accident.

This is such a sad and Bittersweet book, you can really feel Lucy’s devastation coming up from the page, My heart was breaking for her. Ella is such a first class story teller, she covers some really difficult issues, and writes in such a expert way that her characters become so familiar, its like they are your friends and you are going through it with them.

I really don’t want to say too much about this book because I don’t want to give anything away, but what I will say is that from the moment I picked this book up I didn’t want to put it down. I’m going to be thinking about this book and its wonderful characters for a long time to come.

This is book is in my ‘Top 3 Books’ for this year ! I certainly will be recommending this book to all my friends.

I only have one complaint and that is, this book should come with a pack of tissues, because boy did I cry whilst reading this book !

I give this excellent book a very well earned 10/10.

Published by Avon on 14 August 2014 – E-book  &  25 September 2014 – Paperback.

Thank you to the publishers Avon and to NetGalley for the digital copy of the book to read and review.

download

3 thoughts on “Pieces of You – Ella Harper

Leave a Reply

