This is the water – Yannick Murphy

Back of the book :

This is a novel about a woman.

About a mother. About a marriage.

This is a novel about a murder.

In the brightly lit pool the killer swims and watches. Amongst the mothers cheering on their swim team daughters is Annie. Watching her two girls race, she’s thinking of other things. Her husbands emotional distance. Her lost brother. The man she is drawn to.

Then she learns a terrible secret. Now her everyday cares and concerns seem meaningless. 

Annie knows she has to act. Above all, she must protect her children….

 

What I think :

I don’t really know what to say about this book. I was really pleased when it was sent to me, and really wanted to like it, but however I really couldn’t get into this book. Right from the start I didn’t like the writing style. I couldn’t get used to the second person story telling. 

If this book had been written in a normal narrative I’m sure it would have been a pretty good story. 

I’m sorry to say that I couldn’t finish this book which is a shame. 

I didn’t give this book a rating as I didn’t finish it.

Thank you to Bookbridgr and the publishers Headline for the copy of the book to read and review.

 

 this-is-the-water-yannick-murphy-L-XxJNEU

 

Leave a Reply

